Hero of the Highway Award

The Trucking Industry Defense Association’s (TIDA) “Hero of the Highway” award is bestowed annually upon a commercial driver who deserves recognition for heroic behavior and/or extraordinary public service demonstrated in the past year. The TIDA Board of Directors selects the recipient of the Hero of the Highway Award.

The recipient of the Hero of the Highway Award will receive:

  • An all-expenses (airfare and hotel) paid trip to TIDA’s 2021 Annual Seminar in Philadelphia, PA
  • $2,500 check for his or her service to the trucking industry 
Nominations are now open for the 2021 Hero of the Highway award.
Submit your nomination today!










 Hero of the Highway Past Recipients

Pictured from left to right:Dana Hoffman, Irena Ivic (2019 award winner) and Kevin Chignell

Click on the awardees name below to watch how they earned the Hero of the Highway award.


 Irena Ivic, Milwaukee County Transit System

2018 Darren Phillips, Sevier Valley Transportation 


Ron Kneeland, Maverick Transportation LLC


Shawn Neiman, Ward Trucking


Amy S. Norris, B&B Trucking


Adam Phillips, Ruan Transportation Management Systems


Mike Salmon, Southeastern Freight Lines


Alton Greeson, Transport America


David Nelson, Werner Enterprises